Carnivals

Blog carnivals.  I like them but I don’t really participate in them or even read them very much.  I should do both, but I find I don’t really have the time or the attention span.  I just opened my Bloglines (that’s a feed reader you should be using) and see that I have no less than 5 carnivals saved to read.  Two of those have been saved for more than three weeks.  If you’re a betting woman you should be slapping your money down and betting against me ever reading those.  I want to.  I just clicked them all open, each in a shiny new firefox (that’s a browser you should be using) tab.  But no, I don’t have the time.

I will, however, tell you that when I decided to homeschool Michelle one of the first things I did was track down all of the homeschool blogs I could find and I read every Carnival of Education and Carnival of Homeschooling edition I could get my hands on.  Inspiration is good, and there is safety in numbers – even when the numbers are doing it in ways that just aren’t right for your family (or maybe any family – but that’s a flamewar waiting to happen and this blog isn’t ready for that.  Patience, please.)

I do have time for a quick run through of both Carnival of Homeschooling and Homeschool Country Fair (which is new and lovely and you should submit an entry!).


From the Carnival, Raising Girls was interesting, though I don’t think it’s the response I would have given to such a question. The Thinking Mother shares her views on the blogging vs chat lists question. I have issues with the use of the phrase “chat list”, but I enjoyed her comparision and critique.


From the County Fair, You Don’t Have to Be Religious was awesome and How to Plan a Structured Year scared the you know what out of me.


Maybe next week I’ll be able to read every entry… no, probably not. So many carnivals, so little time.


Technorati Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Carnivals

  1. Okay, I’ll bite.

    What scared the **** out of you?

  2. Hi, What’s the issue with ‘chat list’ phrase that I used? I meant, specifically, Yahoo Groups! chat lists, where email is the communication method and where chat is limited by the Group’s rules.
    I’m curious!

  3. heh, I love both of you ladies! A lot!

    Meg, the answer to your question is simple – structure and organization give me nightmares. I strive for both but never feel like I acheive either. Your ideas are wonderful and they make me feel like I could totally do that but then I begin to panic because who am I kidding?

    Christine – the phrase “chat list” just plain bugs me. Chat is chat – where you enter a chatroom and talk in real time. An email list/mailing list/listserv is totally different from chat. Combining the two just bugs me. It’s my issue, caused by working in online communities that use a variety of tools where the combination of the word “chat” and “list” would create chaos. 😉

    Thanks, both of you, for commenting. I look forward to seeing you again, on blogs everywhere!

  4. LOL – I totally understand. I’m at the other end of the spectrum, I’m a detail person and freak if I don’t have some structure as a spine. I’m happy to say that it doesn’t stop me from throwing it all out the window, but that’s only because I know what I’m trading off to do that.

  5. I’ve just been letting everything pass me by , but so it goes. I just don’t have much to say these days. Pfft. I can’t be bothered with anything. More or less nothing seems worth doing. I haven’t gotten much done recently, but oh well.

  6. I’ve just been letting everything wash over me. I’ve pretty much been doing nothing. I’ve just been sitting around not getting anything done.

  7. I can’t be bothered with anything recently. I’ve just been sitting around doing nothing. Today was a loss. I just don’t have much to say. Nothing seems worth thinking about.

  8. We are killing the rainforest

  9. Children in … fill in the nation of your choice … are living better

  10. Sex offenders should be, should not be castrated

  11. Help the homeless down the street and persuade them to look for work

  12. I can’t be bothered with anything lately. Such is life. Basically nothing seems worth thinking about. I’ve just been staying at home not getting anything done. I haven’t been up to anything today, but oh well. I haven’t gotten much done lately.

  13. Tobacco billboards are wrong

  14. The Aging Population Hurts The Economy

  15. The school paddle is, is not an effective instrument to deal with bad students

Leave a Reply

