What do you want to be when you grow up?

Michelle met with the college guidance counselor today for course registration.  It took a very long time for her to choose four courses.  It would have taken longer if I hadn’t jumped in and made suggestions.  Michelle has absolutely no clue what she wants to "be" when she grows up.  She has no clue as to what she might want to study in college.  As she says, she likes a little bit of everything.  She comes by that naturally.  I like a little bit of everything, too.

So, we stuck with the basics – a college prep type math class because her math skills are borderline college ready and rather than throw her into something she isn’t ready for, we’re going slowly in that area.  American History (through 1866).  Art Fundamentals.  English Comp. 

The last three are real college classes taken on a real community college campus with real college students.  Michelle is officially a "high school student" homeschooled but taking college classes for dual credit ie… credit for high school and for college credits.   

MIchelle will still be "homeschooling", along with her college classes.  She’ll be going to the college 5 days a week, but only a couple of hours each day.  Then, of course there’s studying and homework and projects and papers to write, for those classes.  We will still do homeschool stuff but she will no longer be doing "school at home". 

Are you confused yet? 

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “What do you want to be when you grow up?

  1. She’s not alone. I’m 32 and I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.

  2. I would like to be taller when I grow up please.

    Thanks for explaining. I didn’t really get the whole dual-enrollment thing but it does make sense to me now. And it’s understandable that she doesn’t know what to take. My first year of my BA I had to take x number of credits in humanities, social science, language and science (there were a few different formulas – you could take science instead of language and vice-versa). It helped me rule out what I didn’t want to study. In the end I ended up with two majors since I was taking all my credits in those departments anyway.

  3. I don’t know what I want to be either!

    She is starting with the basics, sassymonkey, and hopefully she’ll figure out some sort of direction over the next six months or so. But knowing Michelle (Ms I want this tattoo, no this tattoo, no THIS tatto) it could take til she’s 40. 😉

  4. lol. I started off thinking sociology, then anthropology, then science, then archaeology and then finally archaeology and history. She’ll figure it out eventually.

Leave a Reply

