Our Favorite Banned Books

Bbwweb100x100_2006
  — Banned Book week is coming!  (Gosh time flies when you’re reading a lot of banned or challenged books, doesn’t it?).  Lord of the Rings is the only book on the "most frequently challenged" list that we read last year.   In the year ahead, we’ll read To Kill a Mockingbird, which is on the most challenged list, plus several others that while challenged, didn’t make the top 100 list.  How many banned books (or challenged books) will you read this year? 

Here are some links for you to surf and discuss with your kids.

  • 10 Most Challenged Books of 2005
  • 100 Most Challenged Books 1990-2000
  • Google Banned Books
  • Banned Books – a lesson plan
  • What’s your favorite banned book?  (Michelle’s is The Perks of Being a Wallflower)
  • *** ignore this, just grabbing a feed smiely.minti.com***

    Technorati Tags: , , ,

    8 responses to “Our Favorite Banned Books

    1. I’m reading To Kill a Mockingbird sometime in the next two weeks. I’ve also going to read The Chocolate War because if I’ve read it I really don’t remember it.

      I’d like to read at least one more before the end of the year. Maybe I’ll grab a Judy Blume book. I don’t know if I’ve ever read Deenie. I know I’ve read Blubber but it’s been years and I really wouldn’t mind reading it again…

    2. LOL – Did you check out my post from today?

    3. LOL not yet – I’m behind schedule today. And, through the magic of typepad’s post to the future, I had forgotten this post was going to publish today – until it hit my feed. I will hit your blog in just a second.

      🙂

    4. Wow Denise. Interesting entry and links. I am shocked at most of the books I see that have been ‘challenged’. I have read so many of them that are great and have turned the girls onto many of them too. I am going back to that Google Banned Books link and get a bunch of them. I am feeling rebellious. 😉

    5. Rebellious, heh. Well good. More rebellion is always a good thing around here. 🙂

    6. My daughter just finished reading A Wrinkle In Time. I never could figure out what the problem was, but it’s been banned, if memory serves.

      Thanks for the reminder about Banned Books Week! And the link. I’m linking you back!

    7. Ah! A Wrinkle in Time, good book and most definitely challenged and banned. Pesky ideas in those pages. 🙂

      Thanks for the link. 🙂

    8. Ohh A Wrinkle in Time! I’ve half been meaning to pick up a copy of that. I haven’t read it in years.

    Leave a Reply

    