Trapped in Chicago

I should be writing this from home but instead am writing from a not so great hotel in Chicago due to a canceled flight. Since everyone else is sound asleep, I thought I’d take a minute to talk about Michelle’s experience at BlogHer Con.



I think one of the best things about having Michelle attend the conference was that she got to see a lot of the people I talk to and about in real life. She was able to attach a face to these amazing women. She also got to see that there are real women who are my age, or at least older than she and her friends are, who are a lot more like her than she ever dreamed. “There were a lot of women with colorful hair and they weren’t 20 year olds!” Heh.


She also had the chance to listen to a lot of really smart women talking about interesting things – something that we just don’t get exposure to in the real world as often as we should. She had the experience of having women interested in what she does or what she thinks. That was so valuable.


She also was inspired to get back to work on her own blogging and her graphic design. And her knitting! (So many people talked to her about her knitting and complimented her on her work, that was fabulous – thanks to everyone who did that.)


If you have a teen daughter, why not plan a mommy and me trip to BlogHer Con for next year? I promise you it will be a wonderful experience for both of you.

3 responses to “Trapped in Chicago

  1. What a truly wonderful experience for Michelle….and for you, just having her there. What an invaluable connection for the both of you.

    I wish we had more time together….as we mentioned. I can’t tell you how great it was to meet you…especially since we work closely together. You are an amazintg lady Denise.

  2. Enjoyed reading your blog so much that I decided to Blog Tip you! Hope you will join in on the fun!!

  3. Great suggestion. I have always told my 16 yo daughter to begin a blog in earnest. We’ve even discussed the title of her blog… perhaps by next year she’d be interested enough to go with me. Now that WOULD be fun!

Leave a Reply

